Union University

Union Athletics

Athletics News Release

Union women lead with five players on all-conference list

JACKSON, Tenn. - 2/28/2011 - The No. 1 Union (Tenn.) University women’s basketball team put five players on the TranSouth postseason honors list. Sarah Chan, Kayla Hudson and Lavanda Ross each made first team all-conference. Hope Adams was named second team all-conference while LaTesa McLaughlin was named to the all-freshman team.

Chan joined a rare club this season as she surpassed 1,500 points and 1,000 rebounds for her career. She leads Union with 19.9 points game and 9.7 rebounds per game, her best season at Union. Chan is No. 8 in the NAIA in points per game, No. 11 in field goal percentage (.562) and No. 19 in rebounds per game. She is a two-time all-conference player, and was named NAIA All-American and national tournament MVP last season.

Hudson became the only player in Union history to notch 1,500 points and 700 assists for her career. She averages 16.1 points, 4.6 assists and leads the team with 95 made three pointers (95-218, .436). Hudson is a four-time all-conference selection and has been on the NAIA All-American list in each of her past three seasons.

Ross also has scored over 1,000 points in her career and she is just a junior. She averages 15 points and 6.6 rebounds per game for Union. This is Ross’ third all-conference honor and she also has been on the NAIA All-American list in each of her two previous seasons.

Adams averaged over ten points per game for the entire year until the final week of the season. She finished the regular season with a 9.7 point and 7.7 rebound average. She started all 29 games for Union in the regular season.

McLaughlin averages 3.9 points 3.5 assists per game off the bench as a freshman. Her duties have basically been more defensive and passing. However, in a very important stretch in December when Ross was out, McLaughlin averaged 10 points per game in those three games.

Union also put four players on the TranSouth Scholar Athlete list. Rebecca Sharpe, joins McLaughlin, Adams and Hudson on the scholar athlete list.

Union won their fifth straight TranSouth Regular season crown, earning the Lady Bulldogs a No. 1 seed in the conference tournament. Union will play the Blue Mountain/Mid-Continent winner on Wednesday night at 7:00 p.m. in the quarterfinals.


2011 TranSouth All-Conference Honors
PLAYER OF THE YEAR Meribeth Boehler - Freed-Hardeman
NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR Vee Young - Martin Methodist
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR Molly Wallsmith - Bethel University
COACH OF THE YEAR Chris Nelson - Bethel University

Meribeth Boehler - Freed-Hardeman
Sarah Chan - Union University
Kayla Hudson - Union University
Vee Young - Martin Methodist
Lavanda Ross - Union University
Natalie Shumpert - Freed-Hardeman
Teena Carter - Bethel University
London Elie - Trevecca Nazarene
KK Hodges - Lyon College
Whitney Johnson - Freed-Hardeman
Molly Wallsmith - Bethel University

Hope Adams - Union University
Lauren Ramsey - Lyon College
Casie Cowan - Cumberland University
Jana Roney - Bethel University

Molly Wallsmith - Bethel University
Casie Cowan - Cumberland University
Stephanie Malone - Mid-Continent
Latesa McLaughlin - Union University
Rachel Bollinger - Trevecca Nazarene

Related Item(s):

2011 TranSouth All-Conference Awards/Conference Tourney Website

Steven Aldridge
Phone: (731) 661-5027
Sports Information
Fax: (731) 661-5182

News Release Archive

Connect with Union Athletics

Upcoming Events
Today is Mon, May 25, 2015

Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union