Union University

Union University

Union University News

Union broadcasting students tell story of slain Jackson police officer

JACKSON, Tenn.Sept. 7, 2006 – Union University will premiere a documentary about slain Jackson police officer Andy Bailey Sept. 7.

“In the Line of Duty: The Lives of Heroes,” is the story of Bailey, a former Union student, who was killed in the line of duty June 17, 2004. Six Union broadcasting journalism students -- Holly Deasy, Tosheia Cole, Andy Kelly, Sarah Walker, Lori Cunningham and Kristen Sayres produced the documentary.

“This is when teaching is truly enriching for a professor, when students come to you with an idea on their own that you don’t dispense to them and it has substance and import for the entire community,” said Union broadcasting professor Steve Beverly. “Our aim is to get students in broadcast journalism to care not just about their campus but about the community they live in. This is certainly a signature effort that fulfills that curiosity.”

Members of Bailey’s family and the Jackson police department will be in attendance at the event, which will begin at 7 p.m. in the W.D. Powell Theatre in the Penick Academic Complex on Union’s campus.

EPlusTV Channel 6 in Jackson will air the 30-minute documentary at the following times:

Monday, Sept. 11 at 10 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept.13 at 6:30 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 15 at 1:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 16 at 1 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 17 at 11:30 a.m.
Monday, Sept. 18 at 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 20 at 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 23 at 10:00 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 24 at 7:00 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 25 at 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 27 at 6:00 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 28 at 9:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 30 at 7:00 p.m.


Media contact: Tim Ellsworth, news@uu.edu, 731-661-5215

Search News


Recent News

Sept.
Aug.
July
June
May
April


Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union