Union University

Union University

Union University News

Union SIFE chapter wins at regionals

JACKSON, Tenn.April 17, 2002 – Union University’s Students in Free Enterprise (SIFE) chapter was declared regional champion at the SIFE competition held recently in St. Louis. Beating four other teams, the team earned $1,000 and a spot at the nationals, where Union’s chapter placed in the top 16 last year.

Union’s team includes 25 students from more than 10 different majors. During the competition, Union’s chapter made a 24-minute presentation of projects it worked on during the past year that was judged by business leaders from around the nation.

“It’s great to see the work we’ve done all year come together in this competition,” said Phil Neblett, a senior economics major. “It’s not so much a competition as recognition for the hard work we’ve put in.”

To be in SIFE, students must be juniors or seniors and be recommended by a professor, said SIFE advisor Bill Nance, assistant professor of management and Sam Walton Fellow in Free Enterprise at Union.

Community service is SIFE’s main purpose, and the majority of Union’s 19 projects centered on that theme, including a Monopoly-type game the students designed called SIFEOPOLY, that was used to teach elementary and middle school students about free enterprise. The game won Union an additional $500 award as a top 15 finalist in the Teach a Child About Business contest.

Union also won $500 as one of 15 national finalists in the Polsky Personal Investment Project, which taught college students about saving for retirement, giving to charity and volunteering.

Union will vie to attend the world championship in Amsterdam, The Netherlands when the chapter attends the national competition May 12-14 in Kansas City, Mo.

Team members include: Robert Clifford, Allison Cole, Manda Fly, Mike Gorman, Angela Hodges (President), Sarah Jackson, John Jensen, Kevin Little (Treasurer), Kim Mashburn, Will McCartney (Fundraising Chair), Derek Moore, Nick Mulliniks, Phil Neblett, Drew Nichols (Fundraising Chair), Amy Nolen, Shatana Rivera, John Robus (Vice-President), Rebekah Rogers, Amanda Russell, Sherryl Schrock, Lindsey Travis, and Brody Van Duyn.

Media contact: Sara B. Horn, news@uu.edu, 731-661-5215

Search News

Recent News


Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union