Union University

Union Athletics

Athletics News Release

Union Men’s Golf Claims Second TranSouth Title in Three Years

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - 4/15/2008 - The Union University men’s golf team captured the 2008 TranSouth Conference Championship after shooting a final round of 290 to coast to the 20-shot victory. Union led the two-round event after the first round by nine shots with a score of 305. Union has won two of the last three (2006, 2008) TranSouth Men’s Golf Championships and now have 10 conference titles in their history.

The Union golf team continues to play in honor of their teammate Matt Kelley who remains in the Jackson-Madison County Hospital after suffering injuries in the F4 tornado that struck Union’s campus on February 5. The team proudly wears golf hats that were donated to the program with Matt’s name stitched on the side.

Andy Rushing, in his second season as head coach was named the TranSouth Conference Coach of the Year. Rushing, who spent 17 seasons as the head coach of the Union baseball team, was a golf assistant coach during the 2006 conference championship season.

Union sophomore Clay Mallard, a native of Milan, Tennessee, took home the TranSouth Player of the Year honors with a first place finish. Mallard posted a 74 in the first round and 73 in the final round for a two day total of 147. He edged teammate and fellow Milan native Mills Hamaguchi’s 148 tournament total. Hamaguchi and Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.) University’s Will Scism tied for second with scores of 148. Union’s Gary Glapa finished seventh with a score of 151.

Mallard, Hamaguchi, and Glapa each earned TranSouth All-Conference honors for finishing in the top-7 of the tournament.

Union’s Drew Cannon, another Milan native, finished ninth with a score of 152. Mickey Armstrong from Gallatin, Tennessee placed 15th with a score of 156.

2008 TranSouth All-Conference Team
Clay Mallard – Union University (Medalist – Player of the Year)
Mills Hamaguchi - Union University
Will Scism – Trevecca Nazarene University
Clay Wilson – Martin Methodist College
Austin Whitmer – Cumberland University (Freshman of the Year)
Sam Bass – Bethel College
Gary Glapa – Union University

Andy Rushing – Union University (Coach of the Year)


Steven Aldridge
Phone: (731) 661-5027
Sports Information
Fax: (731) 661-5182

News Release Archive

Connect with Union Athletics

Upcoming Events
Today is Sun, April 26, 2015

Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union