Union University

Union Athletics

Athletics News Release

Union’s Neaville named TranSouth player of the year; Truvillion top newcomer

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - 3/3/2009 - The TranSouth Athletic Conference released the 2008-2009 men's basketball all-conference team and postseason awards. Union University, who won the regular season title with a 14-2 record, claimed two of the top awards, while Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) University and Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.) each picked up one of the four major awards. Matt Neaville of Union was selected as the Player of the Year. Greg Truvillion, also of Union, was selected as the Newcomer of the Year. Michael France of Trevecca Nazarene was named the Freshman of the Year, and Jason Shelton was voted the Coach of the Year.

In addition to Neaville and Truvillion, senior forward Brian Lake earned first team All-TranSouth honors.  Union freshman guard, Allante’ McLemore was named to the All-Freshman team. 

Roland Banhoro and Alan North of Union were both named TranSouth Scholar Athletes.

Matt Neaville, a 6-foot-0 senior from Urbana, Ill., has been named the TranSouth Player of the Week twice this season. He led the NAIA in scoring a year ago. He was the conference Newcomer of the Year last year. Neaville has averaged 17.2 points per game while finishing second in assists with 111. He has shot 38-percent from three-point range and has hit 110 three pointers this season. He ranks third in the NAIA with 3.7 made three pointers per game.

Greg Truvillion, a 6-foot-8 junior from Lansing, Mich., is leading the Bulldogs in scoring. He has been named the conference player of the week five times and was once named the NAIA Player of the Week. Truvillion has averaged 17.6 points and 9.0 rebounds per game this season. He is shooting 59-percent from the field this season. He is ranked No. 11 in the NAIA in field goal percentage and No. 13 in total rebounds per game.

Below are the 2008-2009 TranSouth Men's Basketball Awards.

Matt Neaville - Union University, SR, Urbana, Ill.

Michael France - Trevecca Nazarene, FR, Shelbyville, Tenn.

Greg Truvillion - Union University, JR, Lansing, Mich.

Jason Shelton - Freed-Hardeman

Matt Neaville - Union University, SR, Urbana, Ill.
Zack Frey - Freed-Hardeman, JR, Nashville, Tenn.
Greg Truvillion - Union University, JR, Lansing, Mich.
Will Shackleford - Martin Methodist, JR, Andrews, S.C.
Brian Oduor - Trevecca Nazarene, SR, Nairobi, Kenya
Brandon Springer - Cumberland University, JR, Nashville, Tenn.
Brian Lake - Union University, SR, Bolivar, Tenn.
Kenny Thomas - Mid-Continent, JR, Orange, N.J.
Aubre Bodison - Martin Methodist, JR, Tallahassee, Fla.
Dontaye Hinton - Bethel College, SR, Memphis, Tenn.

Kristoffer Smith - Freed-Hardeman, SR, Nashville, Tenn.
Rontreal Braxton - Cumberland University, SR, Hopkinsville, Ky.
Andy Lee - Lyon College, SO, Hot Springs, Ark.
Jesse Moulton - Freed-Hardeman, SO, Pleasant View, Tenn.
Antoine Lesesene - Bethel College, SR, Upper Marlboro, Md.

Michael France - Trevecca Nazarene, FR, Shelbyville, Tenn.
Brandon Cowart - Lyon College, FR, Bryant, Ark.
Chuck Barnes - Blue Mountain, FR, Winfield, Ala.
Chris Walker - Bethel College, FR, Wynne, Ark.
Anthony Sampson - Freed-Hardeman, FR, Jackson, Tenn.
Allante McLemore - Union University, FR, Franklin, Tenn.


Steven Aldridge
Phone: (731) 661-5027
Sports Information
Fax: (731) 661-5182

News Release Archive

Connect with Union Athletics

Upcoming Events
Today is Sun, May 24, 2015

Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union