Union University

Union Athletics

Athletics News Release

Union golf wins sixth tournament title of season

Brett Barry

UNION CITY, Tenn. - 4/22/2011 - The Union (Tenn.) University men’s golf team captured the 2011 Union University Spring Invitational Title on Friday. Nine men’s teams and five women’s teams, for a total of 90 golfers from four stats, played the two-day event at the Wingfoot Golf Club in Union City, Tenn. Cumberland (Tenn.) earned the women’s title.

For Union, this marked their sixth tournament victory of the season. Union’s next event will be the TranSouth Conference Tournament in Blytheville, Ark. on May 2-3 as the Bulldogs look to defend their conference title and advance to a second straight NAIA National Tournament.

In this weekend’s spring invitational, Union led following all three rounds. Union shot a 293 in the first round, then posted a tournament best round of 285 in the second round on Thursday. The Bulldogs extended their lead again after a 297 in the third round. Union’s team scored of 875 was 15 shots ahead of second place Lindenwood (Mo.) with a 890.

Lindenwood B-Team finished third with an 891, Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.) finished fourth with an 898, Lambuth (Tenn.) was fifth with a 903, Blue Mountain (Miss.) was sixth with a 921, Martin Methodist (Tenn.) was seventh with a 922, Lindenwood C-Team was eighth (936), Union B-Team was ninth (944), Lyon (Ark.) was 10th (946), Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) was 11th (955) and Bethel (Tenn.) was 12th (958).

Union sophomore and former Jackson Christian School standout Brett Barry and Trevecca’s Joey Bradley each finished the three-round event tied for first with a 219. Bradley won the medalist in a one hole playoff over Barry.

Ryan Chandler for Union finished tied for third (220), Micah Gentle was seventh (221), Matt Kelley was 16th (225) and Steven Coffelt was tied for 19th (227) to round out Union’s winning team.

Union’s B-Team was led by Charlie Pitman who tied for 12th (224). Ben Waits finished tied for 43rd (239), Tyler Lay was tied for 43rd (239), Jake Carroll was 54th (246) and Ryan Mantooth was tied for 55th (249). Wed Dyer played for Union as an individual player and finished tied for 55th (249).

Making the men’s all-tournament team included Joey Bradley (Trevecca), Medalist, Brett Barry (Union), Ryan Chandler (Union), Richard Docherty (Lindenwood), Oscar Isacsson (Lindenwood), Grant Moffett (Trevecca). Make the women’s all-tournament team included Ashley Scism (Trevecca), Amelia Ray (Bethel), Kaitlyn Duncan (Lyon), Emily Muse (Bethel), Allyson Agee (Cumberland).


Steven Aldridge
Phone: (731) 661-5027
Sports Information
Fax: (731) 661-5182

News Release Archive

Connect with Union Athletics

Upcoming Events
Today is Sat, April 18, 2015

Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union