Union University

Union Athletics

Athletics News Release

Union Players, Coach Top TranSouth Postseason Honors

HENDERSON, Tenn. - 11/11/2004 - Union University volleyball earned numerous honors as the 2004 TranSouth Conference postseason awards were released. Union senior Gladys Wandera was named the TranSouth Player of the Year for the second straight season, and Union head coach Brian Dunn was named the conference’s Coach of the Year.

In addition to Wandera, seniors Nicole Garber, Allison Shein, and Phylis Anyango were named first team All-Conference performers. Senior Tedy Georgieva was named the All-Conference second team.

Wandera, a 6-foot-2 middle hitter from Kenya, leads the TranSouth Conference with a .464 hitting percentage and aces with 63. She is second in the conference with 5.9 kills per game. She was named the TranSouth Conference Player of the Week five times, the NAIA Region XI Player of the Week four times, and the NAIA National Player of the Week once.

Garber, a 5-foot-7 setter from Columbus, Indiana is second in the conference with 12.8 assists per game and has a total of 1,026 assists on the season. She was named the TranSouth Setter of the Week seven times and the NAIA Region XI Setter of the week twice.

Shein, a 5-foot-7 libero from Lighthouse Point, Florida, ranks second in the conference with 4.4 digs per game and has tallied 400 digs on the season. She was named the TranSouth Libero of the Week six times and the NAIA Region XI Libero of the Week three times.

Anyango, a 6-foot-3 outside hitter form Kenya, ranks fourth in the conference in both hitting percentage (.418) and kills per game (4.9).

Georgieva, a 5-foot-11 outside hitter from Bulgeria, ranks seventh in the conference with a .292 hitting percentage and ninth with a 3.3 kills per game.





  1. Gladys Wandera, Union, PLAYER OF THE YEAR
  2. Karina Souza, Freed Hardeman, FRESHMEN OF THE YEAR
  3. Fabiola Nepomuneno, Martin Methodist, NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR
  4. Phylis Anyango, Union
  5. Fabianna Lima, Martin Methodist
  6. Renata Pedreira, Freed-Hardeman         
  7. Jodi Reimer, Trevecca
  8. Debbie Perry, Cumberland
  9. Ceca Brckalo, Lyon
  10. Allison Shein, Union
  11. Nicole Garber, Union
  12. Cheri Kull, Freed-Hardeman


 2nd Team All Conference

  1. Rachel Vanderburg, Cumberland
  2. Brittany Johnson, Freed-Hardeman
  3. Erin Nickleson, Freed-Hardeman
  4. Susie Harper, Lyon
  5. Daria Paunovic, Lyon
  6. Yellen Rosales, Lyon
  7. Alison Sablick, Lyon
  8. Tedy Georgieva, Union
  9. Jacqueline Gilchrist, Martin Methodist
  10. Kimberly Moman, Martin Methodist


Conference Coach of the Year
Brian Dunn, Union


TranSouth Regular Season Champion
Union University

Steven Aldridge
Phone: (731) 661-5027
Sports Information
Fax: (731) 661-5182

News Release Archive

Connect with Union Athletics

Upcoming Events
Today is Sat, April 25, 2015

Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union