Union University

2009 Bulldog Cross Country

2009 Bulldog Cross Country


Recent News

Recent Photos

Large | X-Large
2/15/10 -  - Morris Abernathy
2/15/10 - 14069
- Morris Abernathy

Large | X-Large
2/15/10 -  - Morris Abernathy
2/15/10 - 14070
- Morris Abernathy

Large | X-Large
2/15/10 -  - Morris Abernathy
2/15/10 - 14071
- Morris Abernathy

Large | X-Large
10/31/09 - Dan Ramer - Abby Ott
10/31/09 - 12180
Dan Ramer - Abby Ott


Season Outlook

The 2009 Union University men's cross country team is looking to win their sixth straight TranSouth Conference title. The Bulldogs are also eyeing a third straight team appearance in the NAIA National Meet.

Union head coach Gary Johnson has six runners returning from the 2008 championship team to go along with three newcomers. Union lost just one senior from last year's squad.

Two seniors top the 2009 roster for Union led by Seth Covington. Covington has been a three-time All-Conference runner in his career to this point. Dan Ramer also returns to add leadership to the squad.

Union has no juniors on this roster, but do have a very talented group of four sophomores. Alex Bett, Zach Covington and Joel Wellum each were named All-Conference runners in 2008. Hillary Maiyo returns after competing as a freshman.

Three freshmen join the squad in hopes of continuing the successes of Union cross country over their careers. Taylor Dartt, Drake Ott and Logan Smith will have their opportunities to contribute to this young team.

Union opens their season on Saturday, September 19 in the Commodore Classic hosted by Vanderbilt University in Nashville. Union will host two events on campus, Union Invitational on Oct. 3 and the TranSouth Conference Meet on Oct. 31.

Past Seasons

  • 2008 TranSouth Champions
  • 2007 TranSouth/Region Champions
  • 2006 TranSouth Champions
  • 2005 TranSouth Champions
  • 2004 TranSouth Champions
  • 2003
  • 2002
  • 2001 Inaugural Season

Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union