Union University

Union University

Union University News

Blanton, Coffer win Preceptor of the Year awards from Union’s School of Pharmacy

JACKSON, Tenn.March 21, 2012 – Union University’s School of Pharmacy presented Michelle Blanton and Kevin Coffer with the 2012 Preceptor of the Year Awards at its fourth annual Pharmacy Preceptor Appreciation Banquet March 8 in the Carl Grant Events Center on Union’s campus.

Preceptor of the Year Award recipients are chosen by the students of the School of Pharmacy, and Blanton and Coffer are the third recipients of the award. Pharmacy preceptors are community and institutional pharmacists who serve as volunteer faculty members for the School of Pharmacy.

Nominees are pharmacists who have demonstrated an exceptional ability to train students in various areas of pharmacy practice and support the mission of Union University.

“Dr. Blanton and Dr. Coffer are an exceptional pharmacists and educators,” said Mark Stephens, director of experiential education at Union’s School of Pharmacy. “Our students, our school and our community are very fortunate to have such outstanding professionals.”

Blanton, pharmacist and owner of DuVall Drugs in Humboldt, Tenn., has served as a preceptor for the School of Pharmacy since the school began in 2008. She also serves the university as a member of the Community Pharmacy Practice Advisory Council and as a guest lecturer.

Coffer is a nutrition support specialist and clinical pharmacy coordinator for West Tennessee Healthcare. He has served as a preceptor for the School of Pharmacy since the school began.

Ashley Turner, of Humboldt, Tenn., the School of Pharmacy’s senior class president, presented the awards.

Media contact: Tim Ellsworth, news@uu.edu, 731-661-5215

Search News

Recent News


Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union