Union University

Union University

Union University News

Union Graduates 360 in Spring Commencement

JACKSON, Tenn.May 24, 2003 – As part of Union University’s 178th graduating class, 360 students received their degrees during the 2003 Spring Commencement Services May 24.

In an address entitled “Declaration of Dependence,” Lloyd John Ogilvie, chaplain of the United States Senate, encouraged graduates with a message from 2 Timothy 1:7. According to Ogilvie, the fear Paul writes about can be best described as “refusing to take the tremendous opportunity which is given.”

“If we might make any mistake tonight, it would be to underestimate the calling of God,” Ogilvie said. “He’ll always give you something only He could accomplish through you.”

Senior class president Casey Stafford presented the gift from the Class of 2003, an amphitheatre which will be constructed on the North side of the Miller Clock Tower. Stafford thanked the university for the “wedding of faith and learning” he and his class experienced at Union.

This year’s University Academic Achievement Awards went to Paul Nicholas Butler, Lee Christopher Holt, Derek Scott Moore, Sherryl Lynne Schrock and Stephen Christopher Wilson. The awards recognize members of the graduating class who have the highest academic achievement and have completed a minimum of 56 hours in residence at Union.

Rebecca Carlson received the 92nd Elizabeth Tigrett Award, for the outstanding senior in each graduating class. Since 1912 the award winner has been selected by the faculty based on the citizenship, character, leadership, scholarship and service of a student who has completed an entire undergraduate program at Union.

Media contact: Chris Allen, news@uu.edu, 731-661-5215

Search News

Recent News


Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union