Union University


Union University Presidents

Presidents at Union University

view more details

From 1823 - 1874 several "principals," "faculty chairmen" and "presidents" served the three institutions, Jackson Academy, West Tennessee College and Union University - Murfreesboro. These schools formed the various streams that shaped Southwest Baptist University, as the institution was named at the formation of the Tennessee Baptist Convention (1874/75).

The university was founded in 1823 and chartered in 1825. The institution was re-chartered in 1875 as Southwest Baptist University with the establishment of the institution's new relationship with the TBC. The name of the institution was changed again to the current Union University in 1907.

Union University Presidents

Current President
Past Presidents
  • David S. Dockery, 1996-2014
    (Chancellor, 2014-Present)
  • Hyran E. Barefoot, 1986-1996
    (Chancellor, 1996-1999)
  • Robert E. Craig, 1967-1986
  • Francis E. Wright, 1963-1967
  • Warren F. Jones, 1945-1963
  • John J. Hurt, 1932-1945
  • Henry E. Watters, 1918-1931
  • George M. Savage, 1915-18
  • Richard M. Inlow, 1913
  • Robert A. Kimbrough, 1911-1913
  • John W. Conger, 1907-1909
  • Philip Thomas Hale, 1904-1906
  • George M. Savage, 1890-1904
  • George W. Jarman, 1876-1890
  • William Shelton, 1875-1876

Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union