Union University
Union University School of Education
A student uses the Smart Board for a presentation.

About Us

Our Mission

The mission of the School of Education is to prepare educators of character and competence who reflect Christ as they serve and lead in their schools and communities. The School of Education offers varying programs of study to prepare students who want to teach and engage the classrooms of the world.

Areas of Study

Three majors are offered in the School of Education: Elementary Education, Learning Foundations, and Special Education. Secondary Education licensure is offered in 21 endorsement areas.

An Elementary Education Major is designed for students wanting to teach in early grades, elementary grades, or middle grades. This major reflects best-practices pedagogy that supports learning in a variety of classroom settings. Within this major students choose specific grade level endorsements (Grades K-6, Grades PreK-3, or Grades 4-8). Instead of selecting an academic minor, students majoring in Elementary Education are required to have an additional major. The second major is chosen from the list below.

  • Learning Foundations Major - a newly enhanced interdisciplinary major
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • English
  • History
  • Language (French, Spanish, ESL)
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Political Science

As listed above, the Learning Foundations major is an interdisciplinary major that supports the varied content areas taught in PreK-8 classrooms. In addition to the varied academic preparation, students choose an area of emphasis to ensure a deepened liberal arts experience. This one area of emphasis is selected from one of the four school academic domains: language arts, social studies, mathematics, or science.

The School of Education also offers a major in Special Education. This major prepares students to teach special education in grades K – 12 in inclusionary settings, pull-out programs, and self-contained special education classrooms.

The graduate programs offered by the School of Education are available on the Jackson, Germantown, and Hendersonville campuses and include the M.Ed., M.A.Ed., Ed.S., and Ed.D. The Doctor of Education is the highest professional degree offered in the field of education and has two Educational specializations at Union: School Administration (offered on three campuses), and Higher Education Administration (offered on the Jackson campus with a distance learning format).

The School offers programs for the preparation of teachers, principals, curriculum supervisors, and higher education administrators. The School of Education, with its undergraduate and graduate programs, is the largest academic enterprise at Union.