Welcome to Union University's Athletic Training Education Program (ATEP) Preceptor Resource Page. This page is designed to provide you with the knowledge and resources necessary to participate as a Preceptor in affiliation with Union's ATEP athletic training education students. Union University is entering the eleventh year of service since its initial accreditation for athletic training education and is fully accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Athletic Training Education Programs (CAATE). I want to express my sincere appreciation to you for your willingness to serve as a clinical instructor to a collection of students that are eager to enter the truly rewarding profession of athletic training. The wealth of knowledge and experiences that you provide to the students is vital to their academic, professional, and spiritual development. Please click on the link provided below to complete the Preceptor Training. Preceptor Training is worth 3 continuing education units (CEU's) under the Board of Certification Approved Provider Code P3625.

2012 Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education Standards Regarding Clinical Education

In accordance with Section J: Clinical Education of the 2012 CAATE Standards for Accreditation of Athletic Training Education Programs, the following standards apply to the supervision of each athletic training student while they are performing their clinical experiences.

  • J1.1 The Preceptor must be physically present and have the ability to intervene on behalf of the athletic training student to provide on-going and consistent education.
  • J1.2 The Preceptor must consistently and physically interact with the athletic training student at the site of the clinical experience.
  • J1.3 There must be regular planned communication between the Athletic training education program and the Preceptor.
  • J1.4 The number of students assigned to a Preceptor in the clinical experience component must be of a ratio that will ensure effective education and should not exceed a ratio of eight students to a Preceptor in the clinical setting.
  • J2.1 Clinical experiences must provide students with opportunities to integrate cognitive, psychomotor skills/clinical proficiency, and affective competence/core values. While development of psychomotor skills/clinical proficiencies must represent a significant focus of clinical

Below is a list of current preceptors that are ccontributing to the program along with their contact information.

Jonathan Allen M.A, ATC
Assistant Professor of Athletic Training
Union University
jmallen@uu.edu
(765) 730-1094
Bart Belew ATC
Head Athletic Trainer
University of Tennessee-Martin
BBelew@utm.edu
(731) 881-7690
Blake Butler ATC
Sports Plus Rehab
Jackson Christian School
Blakeabutler88@aim.com
(731) 928-3777
Sabrina Clark, ATC
Sports Plus Rehab
Gibson County High School/Dyersburg State C.C.
sclark@dscc.edu
(731)676-3739
Jennifer Farroll, ATC
ATEP Clinical Coordinator
Union University
jfarroll@uu.edu
(731) 499-3221
Christie Golden, ATC
University School of Jackson
cgolden@usjbruins.org
(731) 394-4077
Brittany Haley M.S., ATC, NREMT
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Union University
Bhaley@uu.edu
(731) 661-6591
Kevin Hansen, ATC
Sports Plus Rehab
Jackson Central Merry/Madison Academic High School
kevin.hansen@wth.org
(731) 267-9917
Tina Kautz, ATC
Sports Plus Rehab
Trinity Christian Academy/South Gibson High School
kautz.tina@gmail.com
731-549-6067
Travis Livingston, ATC
Sports Plus Rehab
South Side High School/Scotts Hill High School
travis.livingston@wth.org
(615) 390-3229
Cheryl Murray, PT
West TN Bone & Joint Clinic
cmurray@eplus.net
(731) 410-2357
Keith Murray, ATC
STAR Physical Therapy/Lexington High School
keithm@starpt.org
(731) 414-4059
Cliff Pawley M.Ed., ATC
Program Director
Union University
cpawley@uu.edu
(731) 661-5529 or (731) 616-9382
Adam Raines, ATC
Sports Plus Rehab
Halls High School/Ripley High School
araines83@yahoo.com
(615) 417-0448
Jay Roberts, ATC
Sports Plus Rehab
Liberty High School/University School of Jackson
dhstennis22@yahoo.com
(573) 624-0961
Kent Schott, ATC
Sports Plush Rehab
Jackson Christian School
kgschott@hotmail.com
(731) 343-4045
Karen T. Sinclair, ATC
Head Athletic Trainer
Union University
ksinclair@uu.edu
(731) 695-4885
Jay Wentworth, PT
Sports Plus Rehab Centers
jay.wentworth@wth.org
(731) 499-1593
Leigh Ann Wright, ATC
North Side High School/Jackson State Community College
leigha.wright@gmail.com
(731) 431-0356
Oscar Orengo
Graduate Assistant ATC
Union University
Oscar.Orengo@my.uu.edu
(731) 661-6591
Brooke Laws ATC
Sports Plus Rehabilitation
Brooke.Laws@wth.org
(731) 664-7060
Corey Scates
Campbell Clinic
Fayette Academy High School
(901) 734-4491